top of page
  • allistertimms

Unstylish council

Since I’m having a hard time writing, I’m going back to basics, entering into a Homo Ludens stage, so I’m going to gas-up this blog. It’s not so much Julia Cameron’s “Morning Pages,” more of “Write it, damn you, what else are you good for?” or following in the spirit of Montaigne's “Essays.”


Since I’ve always understood the world through writing, I’m hoping if I just write, I’ll come out the other side of this pandemic not unscathed, but neither the worse for wear, either. And I know I’ll be writing about my own particular experience, but it will hopefully reveal what I share with everyone else: the experience of being human. There will be no plan for what I write, it will be like the encrustations of a coral reef. I’m simply going to taste words and language, weigh words and language, try out words and language — just basically cause some mischief.


I’m not promising that what I write will be profound, entertaining, interesting, lucid, meaningful, erudite, necessary, important, sexy, insightful, or witty. You can’t promise such things. But I also can’t promise that it won’t be any of those. Life is very unpredictable, as we can see right now, and writing is like that, too.


And I’m not paying any admission. It’s all free. Come down this rabbit hole with me, if you wish. If not, well, go and paint your roses red.


If you do decide to enter my blog, don’t expect a Virgil to guide you. If anything, you should tip Loki and the trickster spirit at the door.

In fact, I’m going to shut up now and leave you in the capable hands of the wonderful Scottish poet WS Graham:

“Shut up. Shut up. There’s nobody here. If you think you hear somebody knocking On the other side of the words, pay No attention.”

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

On the Nature of Things in My House

In these uncertain days, I keep thinking about where my belief in anything comes from: From the atom to the empyrean, from the time out o’ mind to temporality, from my cup of P.G. Tips to the ocean’s

“Money’s Too Tight To Mention”

I have a way with words. And I have a way with money. Actually, that’s not entirely true: Money has always had its way with me. I realize this is not a singular predicament; it’s a universal one, espe

Tradition & My Individual Book

Here's a list of The Killing Moon's influences, the books and writers who form, let's say, the hyphae that webs its dark earth: Homer’s The Odyssey Angela Carter Everything! Michel Tournier’s The Ogre

bottom of page