top of page
  • allistertimms

On the Nature of Things in My House

In these uncertain days, I keep thinking about where my belief in anything comes from: From the atom to the empyrean, from the time out o’ mind to temporality, from my cup of P.G. Tips to the ocean’s deep, from the germ & virus to dark matter and anguish. And I keep returning to this from Dylan Thomas: “The force that through the green fuse drives the flower/ Drives my green age.”

That is my spirituality, deity, avatar, presence, Tao, mind, spirit, body, animism, atomism, paganism, Buddhism, life. And it’s my negative capability, my mystery, my unknowing, my confusion, my radical acceptance that comes in waves, like broadcasts that never tune-in exactly, but are always chirping in the background like the birds.

We have entered a time that Lucretius called a clinamen, which is an unexpected, unpredictable moment. We are all “swerving” through time, hoping that wisdom comes to us by the “awful grace of god.”

If this crisis is beginning to teach me anything, it’s that narratives are as vital to us as touch, others, our sense of freedom, space, and time.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“Money’s Too Tight To Mention”

I have a way with words. And I have a way with money. Actually, that’s not entirely true: Money has always had its way with me. I realize this is not a singular predicament; it’s a universal one, espe

Unstylish council

Since I’m having a hard time writing, I’m going back to basics, entering into a Homo Ludens stage, so I’m going to gas-up this blog. It’s not so much Julia Cameron’s “Morning Pages,” more of “Write

Tradition & My Individual Book

Here's a list of The Killing Moon's influences, the books and writers who form, let's say, the hyphae that webs its dark earth: Homer’s The Odyssey Angela Carter Everything! Michel Tournier’s The Ogre

bottom of page